Kelsey Reviews: “Trick ‘r Treat” (2007)

4.0/5.0

Fall season is approaching, we’re in the month of October, and it’s that time of the year for Halloween movies! Scary films leaving you on the edge of your seat waiting to know what happens and horror films having you check twice under your before you sleep. I’m more of a classic horror film lover, but I decided I’d review a more recent halloween movie, 2007, Trick ‘r Treat.

Out of all the scary movies I have seen in my lifetime, I think this is one of my favourites. IMDb rates it 6.7 out of 10.0, and I think it’s more underappreciated than it should be. It’s not my favourite, but it definitely scared me when I first saw it, unlike some of the more recent films that are just in for the gore factor with bad acting.

The movie itself centers around these groups of people on Halloween night. They do not know each other, but they all intertwine in the end, which is one of the main things I love about the movie. Some of my favourite movies being that same way. Two examples could be Reservoir Dogs or Pulp Fiction, both good ‘ole Tarantino films. I think it’s a great method for some movies, because then when you re-watch them, you notice more connections and you see things being foreshadowed. It also makes the first time you watch the film all the more special because you don’t know what’s coming.

Now, for the acting in the story. Anna Paquin is a great actress in this, one of the first I recognized. Most of the other actors I’ve not seen in much else. But, then again, I’m a huge True Blood fan, so it’s not surprising. I’d recognize Anna in her other films. She does a wonderful job hiding her accent. She has a natural New Zealand accent, and in this movie she has a Northern American accent. The other actors did a good job as well.

This film takes us on a throwback to the old age traditions and rules of trick-or-treating on Halloween, including a serial killer, adventurous middle-schoolers, and women looking for lust, causing trouble. There is one specific villain who appears in a lot of the movie. This villain doesn’t get many parts in the movie until one specific scene toward the end. But the fact you see him here and there before that scene makes you wonder why he’s so important and why he is appearing so much. Once you find out, it’s surprising and ties everything together!

I recommend this film for anyone who likes an eerie October movie with a great storyline and characters; The actors portray those characters really well. I’m not sure as to why it is so underrated and underappreciated, but I think that it is a wonderful horror flick for the fall/Halloween season.

Trick 'r Treat

Leave a comment